What are the 7 Chakras?

Chakra is the ancient sanskrit word for “wheel”. It is an old word, and it has been used for thousands of years to convey both a spiritual and physical meaning. Chakras are swirling centers of energy that conduct health and spiritual energies through the most important points in your body- most notably in your major organs and the bundles of nerves throughout your body.

There are seven major Chakras (although some say there are up to 114 total chakras, including major and minor ones) in the body, located in a vertical line going straight up the spine. Each Chakra correspondes to a unique color, number, health benefit, and location.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The Crown Chakra is at the very uppermost tip of your head, and it represents spiritual connection to the universe. It is very rare that a person is able to fully open this mystical Chakra. However, those that do experience an intense, high consciousness and spiritual awakening.

Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Located in the center of the forehead, this chakra represents connection to divine awareness. This awareness is a key driving force in our daily intuition which guides us through life, helping us make good decisions both big and small. When someone has fully opened their Third Eye (yes, that’s where the saying comes from!), they may experience elevated spiritual vision and intense premonition.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Unsurprisingly, this Chakra is located in the throat, and it corresponds to speech. It gives us the power to speak with clarity and honesty, from deep within our soul. When this Chakra is blocked, people find it harder to express themselves.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

This is the connection between the higher and lower parts of your body- metaphysically and physically. It provides the basis for our ability to feel and give love for other people. When opened, it improves empathy.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Located between and just beneath your ribs, this chakra provides confidence with your innermost self and control over your life.

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

Located near the groin, this Chakra symbolizes sexual energy and emotional awareness of others around us. When this Chakra is opened, people feel energetci and in control of their lives.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Located at the base of the spine, this is the chakra that grounds us in our reality and gives us steadiness. It gives us the confidence to endure hardship, overcome challenges, and achieve what we want in the face of adversity. When this Chakra is properly opened, it gives the feeling of standing on solid, firm ground.